The right to dividends

Beware of quacks in the field of incorporations
December 3, 2021
The unanimous shareholders' agreement
December 20, 2021

The right to a dividend is one of the three fundamental rights of shares provided for in corporate legislation, in addition to the right to vote and the right to the residue in the event of dissolution or liquidation. Under both the Quebec and federal systems, the right to receive "any declared dividend" must be included in at least one of the classes of shares authorized in the articles of the corporation. Moreover, one of the particularities of the provincial system is that any share is deemed to have the right to receive any dividend declared if no share issued has this right. The following is an overview of the dividend right in corporate law and its various variants.

Entitlement to any declared dividend

The right to receive "any dividend declared" by the board of directors is generally associated with the ordinary or surplus participating shares of the company. A share entitled to receive this dividend will often be subject to priorities of other classes of shares, but will ultimately be entitled to receive the remainder of the dividend, once the preferred classes have been paid. The power to declare a dividend is discretionary in nature: it is up to the board of directors to determine when a dividend is declared (unless a unanimous shareholders' agreement provides otherwise). However, the board of directors should ensure that the order of priority set out in the articles of association is respected.

Fixed dividend

The fixed dividend is a right possessed by the so-called "preference shares". The company's articles of association will provide for a dividend rate, usually calculated on the redemption value of the shares. The dividend may be monthly or annual, and cumulative or not.

Where the dividend is cumulative, the holders of the shares will be entitled to the accrued but undeclared dividend on their shares, whereas a non-cumulative dividend means that the right to the dividend is lost in the event that the Board of Directors does not declare the dividend during the period in question (during the month or year, as the case may be).

This dividend generally has priority over ordinary or participating shares, which means that holders of these shares will be entitled to be paid before any amount is paid to holders of ordinary or participating shares. Priorities may also exist between different classes of preference shares.

Discretionary dividend

The discretionary dividend has the same functions and features as the fixed dividend described above, with the exception that the Board of Directors has the discretion to set the dividend rate within the limits imposed by the Articles of Association. For example, a rate may be set between X% and Y%, or the by-laws may stipulate that the rate must not exceed a certain threshold, leaving the Board of Directors free to declare or not declare a dividend on the class of shares.

Unlimited discretionary dividend

Certain classes of shares will be entitled to an unlimited discretionary dividend. This right will most often be associated with non-participating and non-voting shares. The special feature of this dividend is that the board of directors has the power to declare a dividend on these shares in an amount it determines, at its own discretion, without any scale imposed in the articles (like the variable dividend above). This type of share can be very effective in distributing the surplus of a company among the shareholders without having to respect the percentage of common shares of each. Each shareholder will then have to have shares of a different class, as shares of the same class must be treated equally.

The right to a "discretionary" dividend should not be confused with the right to receive "any declared dividend". The latter refers to the remainder of the dividend, while the discretionary dividend is an amount allocated to the holders of a particular class, determined by the Board of Directors at its discretion.

Entitlement to any discretionary dividend declared

Instead of setting up a structure with common shares and unlimited discretionary shares, each shareholder can be issued participating shares of a different class, and the right of each class to receive "any dividend declared" will be subject to the power of the board of directors to allocate, at its discretion, the dividend among the different classes. The directors will then be able to "discriminate" between one or more classes of shares, and determine what portion of the declared dividend goes to one class or another. Note that this type of share was approved by the Supreme Court of Canada in 1990, in the Mcclurg case.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Now Button

Le droit aux dividendes

Attention aux charlatans dans le domaine des incorporations
December 3, 2021
La convention unanime des actionnaires
December 20, 2021

Le droit au dividende est l’un des trois droits fondamentaux des actions prévus par les lois corporatives, en plus du droit de vote et droit au reliquat en cas de dissolution ou liquidation. Autant sous le régime québécois que le régime fédéral, il est obligatoire que le droit de recevoir « tout dividende déclaré » se retrouve dans au moins une des catégories d’actions autorisées dans les statuts de la société. Par ailleurs, l’une des particularités du régime provincial est que toute action est réputée avoir le droit de recevoir tout dividende déclaré si aucune action émise ne possède ce droit. Voici un aperçu du droit au dividende en droit corporatif et ses différentes variantes.

Droit à tout dividende déclaré

Le droit de recevoir « tout dividende déclaré » par le conseil d’administration est généralement associé aux actions ordinaires ou participantes aux surplus de la société. Une action qui a le droit de recevoir ce dividende sera souvent sujette à des priorités d’autres catégories d’actions, mais aura ultimement le droit de recevoir le reliquat du dividende, une fois les catégories préférentielles payées. Le pouvoir de déclarer un dividende est de nature discrétionnaire : il revient au conseil d’administration de déterminer à quel moment un dividende est déclaré (à moins qu’une convention unanime des actionnaires prévoit autrement). Le conseil d’administration devra toutefois s’assurer de respecter l’ordre de priorité établi dans les statuts.

Dividende fixe

Le dividende fixe est un droit que possède les actions dites « privilégiées ». Les statuts de la société prévoiront un taux de dividende, généralement calculé sur la valeur de rachat des actions. Le dividende pourra être mensuel ou annuel, et cumulatif ou non.

Lorsque le dividende est cumulatif, les détenteurs des actions auront droit au dividende accumulé mais non déclaré sur leurs actions, tandis qu’un dividende non cumulatif signifie que le droit au dividende est perdu advenant que le conseil d’administration ne déclare pas le dividende durant la période en question (au cours du mois ou au cours de l’année, selon le cas).

Ce dividende est généralement prioritaire sur les actions ordinaires ou participantes, ce qui signifie que les détenteurs de ces actions auront le droit d’être payés avant que tout montant soit payé aux détenteurs d’actions ordinaires ou participantes. Des priorités pourront également exister entre les différentes catégories d’actions privilégiées.

Dividende variable

Le dividende variable a les mêmes fonctions et particularités que le dividende fixe vu ci-haut, à l’exception que le conseil d’administration aura la discrétion de fixer le taux du dividende à l’intérieur des limites imposées dans les statuts. Par exemple, un taux pourra se situer entre X% et Y%, ou bien il peut être stipulé dans les statuts que le taux ne doit pas dépasser un certain seuil, laissant la discrétion au conseil d’administration de déclarer ou non un dividende sur la catégorie d’actions.

Dividende discrétionnaire illimité

Certaines catégories d’actions auront droit à un dividende discrétionnaire illimité. Ce droit sera le plus souvent associé à des actions non-participantes et non-votantes. La particularité de ce dividende est que le conseil d’administration a la faculté de déclarer, sur ces actions, un dividende d’un montant qu’il détermine, à son entière discrétion, sans qu’il n’y ait de barème imposé dans les statuts (comme le dividende variable ci-haut). Ce type d’actions peut être très efficace pour répartir les surplus d’une société entre les actionnaires sans avoir à respecter le pourcentage d’actions ordinaires de chacun. Chaque actionnaire devra alors avoir des actions d’une catégorie différente, étant donné que les actions d’une même catégorie doivent être traités de manière égale.

Le droit à un dividende “discrétionnaire” ne doit pas être confondu avec le droit de recevoir “tout dividende déclaré”. Ce dernier réfère au reliquat du dividende, tandis que le dividende discrétionnaire est un montant attribué aux détenteurs d’une catégorie en particulier, déterminé par le conseil d’administration à sa discrétion.

Droit à tout dividende déclaré discrétionnaire

Au lieu de mettre en place un structure avec actions ordinaires et actions à dividende discrétionnaire illimité, on peut émettre à chaque actionnaire des actions participantes d’une catégorie différente, et prévoir que le droit de chaque catégorie de recevoir « tout dividende déclaré » sera sujet au pouvoir du conseil d’administration de répartir, à sa discrétion, le dividende entre les différentes catégories. Les administrateurs pourront alors « discriminer » une ou plusieurs catégories d’actions, et déterminer quelle portion du dividende déclaré revient à l’une ou l’autre des catégories. Notons que ce type d’actions a été approuvé par la Cour suprême du Canada en 1990, dans l’affaire Mcclurg.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Call Now Button