The unanimous shareholders' agreement

The right to dividends
December 7, 2021
Adding a shareholder: practical considerations
December 28, 2021

The unanimous shareholder agreement allows shareholders, under corporate law, to restrict or withdraw, in whole or in part, the decision-making powers of directors. Unlike "regular" shareholder agreements, unanimous agreements automatically apply to any new shareholder of the corporation. This restriction on the powers of the board of directors can be expressed in several ways, of which we offer an overview.

1. Shareholder approval

By unanimous agreement, the shareholders can make certain decisions subject to shareholder approval, given by resolution. For example, the power to authorise a new issue of shares could be made subject to the shareholders approving such an issue. Without shareholder approval, the board of directors could not proceed.

2. Decisions taken by the shareholders

Instead of decisions being approved by the shareholders, they could instead, by unanimous agreement, choose to have certain decisions made by themselves directly. In such a case, the shareholders could meet in a special meeting (or sign resolutions in lieu thereof), in order to pass a resolution authorising a share issue, even without going through the company's board of directors.

Furthermore, the shareholders will be able to determine the thresholds required to take decisions that are withdrawn from the board of directors. For example, a unanimous vote of the shareholders could be required to wind up the company, or a two-thirds threshold to authorise a new share issue. Voting could be based on the number of votes held by each shareholder.

3. Instructions to the Board of Directors

Instead of reserving certain powers for themselves, the shareholders can force the board of directors to take certain decisions. For example, the shareholders could restrict the powers of the board of directors to make annual appointments of the officers desired by the shareholders. Without such an agreement, the board has complete discretion over these appointments.

4. Ability to link voting rights

In contrast to directors, shareholders have the right to bind their voting rights on matters specified in the agreement by agreement. The unanimous agreement can be an interesting tool to remove certain powers from the board of directors, and then to bind the shareholders' vote on these matters.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Now Button

La convention unanime des actionnaires

Le droit aux dividendes
December 7, 2021
Ajouter un actionnaire : considérations pratiques
December 28, 2021

La convention unanime des actionnaires permet aux actionnaires, en vertu des lois corporatives, de restreindre ou retirer, en totalité ou en partie, les pouvoirs décisionnels des administrateurs. Contrairement aux convention entre actionnaires “régulières”, les conventions unanimes s’appliquent automatiquement envers tout nouvel actionnaire de la société. Cette restriction des pouvoirs du conseil d’administration peut se traduire de plusieurs façons, dont nous vous proposons un survol.

1. Approbation des actionnaires

Par convention unanime, les actionnaires peuvent faire en sorte que certaines décisions soient assujetties à l’approbation des actionnaires, donnée par résolution. Par exemple, le pouvoir d’autoriser une nouvelle émission d’actions pourrait être assujettie à ce que les actionnaires approuvent une telle émission. À défaut d’approbation par les actionnaires, le conseil d’administration ne pourrait pas aller de l’avant.

2. Décisions prises par les actionnaires

Au lieu que les décisions soient approuvées par les actionnaires, ceux-ci pourraient plutôt, par convention unanime, choisir que certaines décisions soient prises par eux-mêmes directement. Dans un tel cas, les actionnaires pourraient se réunir en assemblée extraordinaire (ou signer des résolutions en tenant lieu), afin d’adopter une résolution autorisant une émission d’actions, et ce, sans même passer via le conseil d’administration de la société.

Par ailleurs, les actionnaires pourront déterminer les seuils requis afin de prendre les décisions retirés au conseil d’administration. On pourrait par exemple prévoir que l’unanimité des actionnaires est requis afin de procéder à la liquidation de la société, ou bien un seuil du deux tiers pour autoriser une nouvelle émission d’actions. Le vote pourra être fonction du nombre de voix détenus par chaque actionnaires.

3. Instructions au conseil d’administration

Au lieu de se réserver certains pouvoirs, les actionnaires peuvent contraindre le conseil d’administration de prendre certaines décisions. Les actionnaires pourraient ainsi restreindre les pouvoirs du conseil d’administration afin qu’il procède à la nomination, annuellement, des dirigeants souhaités par les actionnaires. Sans une telle convention, le conseil d’administration a une discrétion complète sur ces nominations.

4. Capacité de lier son droit de vote

Contrairement aux administrateurs, les actionnaires ont le droit de lier, par convention, leur droit de vote sur des questions déterminées dans la convention. La convention unanime peut être un outil intéressant afin de retirer certains pouvoirs au conseil d’administration, et ensuite de lier le vote des actionnaires sur ces questions.

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Call Now Button