The importance of company rules

Discretionary shares
May 3, 2021
Incorporation of professionals
May 13, 2021

The bylaws (or regulations for federal corporations) are a major document in the organisation of a corporation. The bylaws generally contain procedures for internal governance, such as the manner in which shareholder meetings and board meetings are held, and also contain any other provisions that corporate laws allow to be included.

In this article, we present three important provisions that are usually found in a company's rules.

1- Preponderant vote of the President

Corporate laws, both under the Quebec and federal systems, provide that, unless otherwise provided for in the by-laws, the president of the corporation presides over shareholders' meetings, and that in the event of a tie, the president of the meeting has the power to cast the deciding vote. This could be a real internal management problem, especially when a company is composed of two shareholders with equal voting rights. The rules therefore generally provide that the chairman of the company does not have a casting vote at a shareholders' meeting, even if there is an equality of votes on a given issue.

2- Board quorum

Quorum is the number ofdirectors who must be present at a board meeting in order to act and make decisions. Under Quebec law, quorum is the majority of directors in office. Under federal law, quorum is rather the majority of the fixed number of directors or the majority of the minimum number ofdirectors provided for in the articles.
In both cases, the quorum provided for in the law is subject to the provisions of the company's regulations. It is therefore important to have the quorum provided for in the bylaws verified before its adoption, especially when the board of directors will be composed of several persons.

3- Role of officers

The officers of a company, i.e. the president, vice-president, treasurer, secretary or any other equivalent function, are appointed by the board of directors. Unlike directors, officers manage the day-to-day business of the company.

The company's bylaws occasionally provide for a precise description of the role and tasks associated with each function of officer. Another approach is that the bylaws provide that the role description of officers is to be determined by the board of directors.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Now Button

L’importance du règlement de la société

Les actions à dividende discrétionnaire
May 3, 2021
Incorporation des professionnels
May 13, 2021

Le règlement intérieur (ou règlements administratifs pour les sociétés fédérales) est un document majeur dans l’organisation d’une société par actions. Le règlement contient généralement des procédures de régie interne, telles que les façons dont sont tenues les assemblées des actionnaires et réunions du conseil d’administration, et contient également toute autre disposition que les lois corporatives permettent d’y prévoir.

Nous vous présentons dans cet article trois dispositions importantes que l’on retrouve généralement dans un règlement de société.

1- Vote prépondérant du président

Les lois corporatives, autant sous le régime québécois que fédéral, prévoient que sauf disposition contraire dans le règlement, le président de la société préside les assemblées des actionnaires, et qu’en cas d’égalité le président de l’assemblée a le pouvoir de départager, soit un vote prépondérant. Ceci pourrait constituer un réel problème de gestion interne, particulièrement lorsqu’une société est composée de deux actionnaires ayant des droits de vote égaux. Le règlement prévoit donc généralement que le président de la société n’a pas de vote prépondérant à l’occasion d’une assemblée des actionnaires, même s’il y a égalité des voix sur une question donnée.

2- Quorum du conseil d’administration

Le quorum est le nombre d’administrateurs qui doivent obligatoirement être présents à une réunion du conseil d’administration afin qu’ils puissent agir et prendre des décisions. Sous la loi québécoise, le quorum est la majorité des administrateurs en fonction. Sous la loi fédérale, le quorum est plutôt la majorité du nombre fixe d’admnistrateurs ou bien la majorité du nombre minimal d’administrateurs prévus aux statuts.
Dans les deux cas, le quorum prévu dans la loi est sujet aux dispositions du règlement de la société. Il est donc important d’avoir que le quorum prévu au règlement intérieur soit vérifié avant son adoption, surtout lorsque le conseil d’administration sera composé de plusieurs personnes.

3- Rôle des dirigeants

Les dirigeants d’une société, soit le président, vice-président, trésorier, secrétaire ou toute autre fonction équivalente, sont nommés par le conseil d’administration. Contrairement aux administrateurs, les dirigeants gèrent les affaires courantes de la société.

Les règlements de la société prévoient à l’occasion une description précise du rôle et des tâches associées à chaque fonction de dirigeant. Une autre approche est que le règlement prévoit que la description du rôle des dirigeants est à être déterminée par le conseil d’administration.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Call Now Button