Advantages of uncertificated shares

Adding a shareholder: practical considerations
December 28, 2021
Three types of company merger
April 13, 2022

The Quebec regime for business corporations, as well as other provincial regimes (including Ontario and British Columbia), expressly allows for the issuance of uncertificated shares in its Act. This is also the case for almost all of the incorporation regimes of the various American states. Although relatively little used by private companies in Quebec, uncertificated shares are gaining in popularity. We offer an overview of the various advantages of choosing to issue uncertificated shares.

Dematerialised share transactions

As explained in another post, "certificated" shares are represented by a paper certificate. The share certificate should not be confused with the shares themselves, which can exist independently of the certificate. However, when it comes to share transactions, be it a sale, gift or mortgage, the certificate will be essential to effect any transfer of the shares. The transfer of shares represented by a certificate effectively requires the endorsement of the certificate (signature on the back or on a separate document) and the delivery of the certificate to the purchaser, much in the same way as a cheque or other negotiable instrument.

In contrast, uncertificated shares are not represented by a document, the existence of such shares being evidenced by the registration of the shares in the company's share register. The transfer of any uncertificated share does not require the exchange of any paper, the closing of the transaction requiring only instructions to the company to register the transfer.

Simplification of formalities

Share certificates can be difficult to manage when shares are sold or redeemed. Each transfer or redemption of shares will generally require the cancellation of a certificate and the issue of a new certificate, while following the established numbering of the certificates. The uncertificated share plan only requires a shareholding notice to inform and provide evidence to any shareholder of the number and class of shares they hold.

Few benefits of issuing certificates

The idea behind share certificates is to be able to physically represent the shares of a corporation in order to facilitate their transfer by endorsement and delivery of the certificate. However, private companies in Canada often have restrictions on transfer contained in the articles of incorporation of the company, so that any transfer of shares must be authorised by resolution of the board of directors beforehand. In addition, share certificates are usually kept in the corporate book under the "Certificates" tab, acting as a sort of second share register.

In short, except possibly for the sense of security that a share certificate may provide as evidence of share ownership (absent evidence to the contrary), it appears that the certificated share regime is of little benefit compared to the flexible and simplified uncertificated share regime. It is interesting to note that in many corporate laws around the world, including New Zealand and the Cayman Islands, "by default" shares are uncertificated, requiring only an instrument of transfer, as with any other property.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Now Button

Avantages des actions sans certificat

Ajouter un actionnaire : considérations pratiques
December 28, 2021
Trois types de fusion de sociétés
April 13, 2022

Le régime québécois des sociétés par actions, ainsi que d’autres régimes provinciaux (dont l’Ontario et la Colombie-Britannique) permet expressément dans sa Loi l’émission d’actions sans certificat. C’est le cas également pour la presque totalité des régimes d’incorporation des différents États américains. Bien que relativement peu utilisé par les sociétés privés au Québec, les actions sans certificat gagnent en popularité. Nous vous proposons un aperçu de différents avantages conférés par le choix d’émettre des actions sans certificat.

Transactions d’actions dématérialisées

Comme nous l’avons expliqué dans un autre billet, les actions “avec certificat” sont représentés par un certificat sur support papier. Il ne faut pas confondre le certificat d’actions avec les actions elles-mêmes, qui peuvent exister indépendamment du certificat. Par contre, lorsque vient le temps d’effectuer des transactions d’actions, que ce soit une vente, une donation ou l’hypothèque, le certificat sera essentiel afin d’opérer tout transfert des actions. Le transfert d’actions représentées par certificat requière effectivement l’endossement du certificat  (signature à l’endos ou sur un document distinct) ainsi que la livraison de ce certificat à l’acquéreur, un peu de la même manière qu’un chèque ou tout autre instrument négociable.

À l’opposé, les actions sans certificat ne sont pas représentées par un document, l’existence de ces actions étant constatée par l’inscription des actions dans le registre des actions de la société. Le transfert de tout action sans certificat ne requière l’échange d’aucun papier, la clôture de la transaction ne nécessitant que des instructions donnés à la société d’inscrire le transfert.

Simplification des formalités

Les certificats d’actions peuvent être difficiles à gérer lorsque des actions sont vendues ou rachetés. Chaque transfert ou rachat d’actions va nécessiter généralement l’annulation d’un certificat et l’émission d’un nouveau certificat, tout en suivant la numérotation établie des certificats. Le régime d’actions sans certificat nécessite seulement un avis de détention d’actions afin d’informer et fournir une preuve à tout détenteur d’actions du nombre et catégorie d’actions qu’il détient.

Peu d’avantages à émettre des certificats

L’idée derrière les certificats d’actions est de pouvoir représenter matériellement les actions d’une société afin d’en faciliter le transfert par endossement et livraison du certificat. Or, les sociétés privées au Canada ont la plupart du temps des restrictions au transfert contenues dans les statuts constitutifs de la société, faisant en sorte que tout transfert d’actions doit être autorisé par résolution du conseil d’administration préalablement. En outre, la plupart du temps les certificats d’actions sont gardés dans le livre de société sous l’onglet “Certificats”, agissant en quelque sorte comme un second registre des actions.

Bref, sauf possiblement le sentiment de sécurité que peut procurer un certificat d’actions qui fait preuve de la détention des actions (sauf toute preuve contraire), il semble que le régime d’actions avec certificat est peu avantageux par rapport au régime souple et simplifié des actions sans certificat. Il est intéressant de noter que plusieurs lois corporatives dans le monde, notamment celui de la Nouvelle-Zélande et des Îles-Caïmans, « par défaut » les actions ne sont pas représentées par certificat, et leur transfert ne nécessite qu’un instrument de transfert, comme pour tout autre bien.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Call Now Button