Three types of company merger

Advantages of uncertificated shares
March 31, 2022
corporation and General Partnership: differences
May 16, 2022

An amalgamation is the uniting of several corporations into one, and requires articles of amalgamation to do so. In order to amalgamate two or more corporations, it is imperative that the amalgamating corporations be governed by the same law; for example, it is not possible to amalgamate a provincial corporation with a federal corporation. In this case, one of the corporations must be continued in the other corporate regime so that both corporations are governed by the same law.

Three types of merger can be identified in the corporate laws. Here is an overview.

Vertical simplified merger

The vertical short-form amalgamation is probably the simplest amalgamation, requiring the least corporate formalities. It is mainly the case where a company holds all the issued shares of a subsidiary, and is therefore referred to as a merger of the parent company with its subsidiary.

Each of the merging companies must pass a resolution authorizing the merger, and provide for the following

1- All the shares of the subsidiary will be cancelled without repayment of capital;

2- The articles of merger will be identical to the articles of the parent company, except for the name which may be that of one of the merging companies;

3- The merged company will not issue any shares upon merger; and

4- The directorsof the company resulting from the merger will be those of the parent company and the internal regulations will also be those of the parent company.

Following the adoption of these resolutions, articles of merger may be filed with the competent authorities.

Simplified horizontal merger

This merger also involves simplified, but slightly different, formalities. A typical situation would be where a person (a legal entity for federal companies) holds all the shares in two companies, and wishes to merge these two companies to form a single one.

As with the vertical merger, a resolution of each company will be required to authorise the merger, and they must provide for :

1- the cancellation of the shares of all the shares of the merging companies, with the exception of the shares of one of them;

2- that the Articles of Association will be identical to the Articles of Association of which the shares have not all been cancelled (except for the name); and

3- that the share capital account of the merging companies will be added, to the extent determined by the companies, to the account of the company whose shares are not all cancelled.

Ordinary merger

Any merger that does not qualify for the short-form merger procedure will be an ordinary merger. In contrast to a short-form amalgamation, the amalgamating companies must enter into an amalgamation agreement. This agreement will have to provide, among other things, for the terms and conditions of the conversion of the shares as well as the name and domicile of the directorsof the company resulting from the merger. The merger agreement must be approved by the shareholders of each merging company. Finally, as in the case of a short-form merger, articles of amalgamation will have to be obtained, and will have to contain the elements normally found in articles of incorporation, in addition to the share conversion terms.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Now Button

Trois types de fusion de sociétés

Avantages des actions sans certificat
March 31, 2022
Société par actions et Société en nom collectif : différences
May 16, 2022

Une fusion consiste à unir plusieurs sociétés par actions en une seule, et requière pour ce faire à obtenir des statuts de fusion. Afin d’opérer une fusion entre deux sociétés ou plus, il est impératif que les sociétés fusionnantes soient régies par la même loi; par exemple, il n’est pas possible de fusionner une société de régime provincial avec une société de régime fédéral. Dans ce cas il faudra proroger l’une des sociétés dans l’autre régime corporatif afin que les deux sociétés soient régies par la même loi.

On peut répertorier dans les lois corporatives trois types de fusion. En voici un aperçu.

Fusion simplifiée verticale

La fusion simplifiée verticale est probablement la fusion la plus simple, qui requière le moins de formalités corporatives. Il s’agit principalement du cas où une société détient la totalité des actions émises d’une filiale; on parlera donc de la fusion de la société-mère avec sa filiale.

Chacune des sociétés fusionnantes doit adopter une résolution autorisant la fusion, et prévoir ce qui suit :

1-  Toutes les actions de la filiale seront annulées sans remboursement de capital;

2- Les statuts de fusion seront identiques aux statuts de la société-mère, sauf quant au nom qui peut être celui d’une des sociétés fusionnantes;

3- La société issue de la fusion n’émettra pas d’actions lors de la fusion; et

4- Les administrateurs de la société issue de la fusion seront ceux de la société-mère et le règlement intérieur sera également celui de la société-mère.

Suivant l’adoption de ces résolutions, des statuts de fusion pourront être produits auprès des autorités compétentes.

Fusion simplifiée horizontale

Cette fusion s’opère également via des formalités simplifiées, mais légèrement différentes. La situation typique visée serait la situation où une personne détiendrait la totalité des actions de deux sociétés et qu’il souhaite fusionner ces deux sociétés pour qu’elles ne forment qu’une seule.

Comme pour la fusion verticale, une résolution de chaque société sera requise pour autoriser la fusion, et elles devront prévoir :

1- l’annulation des actions de toutes les actions  des sociétés fusionnantes, à l’exception des actions de l’une d’entre elles;

2- que les statuts de fusion seront identiques aux statuts dont les actions n’ont pas été toutes annulées (sauf concernant le nom); et

3- que le compte de capital-actions des sociétés fusionnantes sera ajouté, dans la mesure déterminée par les sociétés, au compte de la société dont les actions ne sont pas toutes annulées.

Fusion ordinaire

Toute fusion qui ne se qualifie pas à la procédure simplifiée de la fusion simplifiée sera une fusion ordinaire. À l’opposé de la fusion simplifiée, les sociétés fusionnantes devront conclure une convention de fusion. Cette convention devra prévoir, entre autre, les modalités de la conversion des actions ainsi que le nom et le domicile des administrateurs de la société issue de la fusion. Cette convention de fusion devra être approuvée par les actionnaires de chaque société fusionnante. Enfin, comme pour la fusion simplifiée, des statuts de fusion devront être obtenus, et devront contenir les éléments que l’on retrouve normalement dans des statuts de constitution, en plus des modalités de conversion des actions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Call Now Button