The taxation of a corporation

Who can register for GST and QST?
July 19, 2021
Changing a provincial corporation to a federal corporation (and vice versa)
August 11, 2021

Separate entity

A corporation (company) is a separate entity with its own legal personality. As such, the Canadian tax system provides for special taxation to govern the taxation of corporations. A corporation is subject to a corporate tax rate, the rate of which can change depending on the amount of income and the type of income. The following are some (but not all) features of the corporate tax system.

Small Business Deductions (SBD)

In Canada, Canadian-controlled private corporations (CCPCs) may qualify for a reduced tax rate on their active business income (ABI). For example, for a corporation that qualifies for both the federal and Quebec SBDs, its tax rate on active business income will be 12.38% (provincial and federal rates combined). This rate can only be applied on the first $500,000 of business income.

It should be noted that in Quebec, the provincial ECD is only available if the company has 5,500 paid hours per year. A portion of the ECD will be available if the corporation records between 5,000 and 5,500 hours. For example, for a corporation with a fiscal year ending December 31, 2021 and less than 5,000 hours, its combined corporate rate will be 20.5%. Alternatively, a company may qualify for the Quebec ECD if it is in the primary or manufacturing sector.

The ECD is only available on businesses that are actively operated within the meaning of the law, thus excluding specified investment businesses, and personal service businesses (incorporated employee), which are subject to a higher tax rate.

The $500,000 eligible for the reduced rate is a "business limit" that is shared among the so-called "associated" companies. In addition, there are exceptions whereby the amount eligible for the ECD may be reduced.

Investment income

An additional refundable tax of 10 2/3% is to be applied on the investment income of a corporation. The government wishes to discourage the use of corporations to generate investment income at a lower tax rate. For example, rental and interest income may be subject to this additional tax. A special tax also exists for certain types of dividends received, for example from companies that are not connected within the meaning of the law. These additional taxes are refundable when a dividend is paid to shareholders, via RDTOH accounts.

Declaration and payment of dividends

The income of the company should not be confused with the income of its shareholders. A corporation may declare and pay dividends to its shareholders out of its net profits. These dividends will be taxable when paid to shareholders.

In order to avoid double taxation, the tax laws provide for a gross-up and tax credit mechanism on the dividend received. This is to ensure that the total amount of tax paid (corporate and individual) is similar to the amount of tax that would have been paid if the business was operated by an individual (integration principle). A company will be able to declare ordinary dividends, for income that has benefited from the ECD, as well as eligible dividends, for income subject to the higher tax rate. The integration principle is not perfect, however, and there are sometimes distortions, particularly where the corporation does not qualify for provincial ECD.

Salary or dividend?

The shareholder of a company can also be remunerated by salary, by being an employee of his own company. Tax planning is recommended in order to determine the most advantageous way of remuneration. It should be noted that when the entrepreneur is paid a salary by his company, various contributions must be paid and there will be deductions at source from the salary for taxes to be paid.

Advantageous or not the incorporation?

The corporation can be a very tax-efficient vehicle for operating a business, allowing income taxes to be deferred. However, it is not necessarily advantageous in all situations, depending on such things as the type of income, whether the corporation qualifies for ECD (federal and/or provincial), and whether the corporation generates more income than is necessary to cover the cost of living for its shareholders.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Now Button

La fiscalité d’une société par actions

Qui peut s’inscrire aux fichiers de la TPS et TVQ?
juillet 19, 2021
Changer une société provinciale en société fédérale (et vice versa)
août 11, 2021

Entité distincte

Une société par actions (compagnie) est une entité distincte, celle-ci ayant une personnalité juridique qui lui est propre. Ainsi, le régime fiscal canadien prévoit une fiscalité particulière pour régir l’imposition des sociétés par actions. Une société par actions est assujettie à un taux d’imposition corporatif, dont le taux peut changer selon le montant du revenu et le type de revenu. Voyons ci-après quelques caractéristiques (non-exhaustives) du régime fiscal destiné aux sociétés.

Déductions aux petites entreprises (DPE)

Au Canada, les sociétés privées sous contrôle canadien (SPCC) peuvent avoir droit à un taux d’imposition réduit sur leurs revenus provenant d’une entreprise exploitée activement (REEA). À titre d’exemple, pour une société qui se qualifie à la DPE au fédéral et au Québec, son taux d’imposition sur ses revenus d’entreprise exploitée activement sera de 12,38% (taux provincial et fédéral combinés). Ce taux peut être appliqué seulement sur les premiers 500 000$ en revenu d’entreprise.

Il est à noter qu’au Québec, la DPE provinciale est disponible seulement si la société comptabilise annuellement 5 500 heures rémunérées. Une partie de la DPE sera disponible si la société comptabilise entre 5 000 et 5 500 heures. À titre d’exemple, pour une société dont l’année fiscale se termine le 31 décembre 2021 et qui a moins de 5 000 heures rémunérées, son taux corporatif combiné sera de 20,5%. Alternativement, une société peut se qualifier à la DPE du Québec si elle est du secteur primaire ou manufacturier.

La DPE est disponible seulement sur les entreprises qui sont exploitées activement au sens de la loi, à l’exclusion donc des entreprises de placement déterminés, et entreprises de prestations de services personnels (employé incorporé), qui sont assujetties à un taux d’imposition plus élevé.

Le 500 000$ éligible au taux réduit est un « plafond des affaires » qui est partageable entre les sociétés dites « associées ». De plus, il existe des exceptions faisant en sorte que le montant éligible à la DPE pourrait être réduit.

Revenus de placement

Un impôt additionnel remboursable de 10 2/3 % doit s’appliquer sur les revenus de placement d’une société. Le gouvernement souhaite ainsi décourager l’utilisation de sociétés afin de générer des revenus de placements à un taux d’imposition réduit. Par exemple, les revenus de loyer et d’intérêts pourront être assujettis à cet impôt additionnel. Un impôt spécial existe également pour certaines types de dividende reçus, par exemple de sociétés qui ne sont pas rattachées au sens de la loi. Ces impôts additionnels sont remboursables lorsqu’un dividende est versé aux actionnaires, via les comptes d’IMRTD.

Déclaration et versement de dividendes

Il ne faut pas confondre les revenus de la société avec les revenus de ses actionnaires. Une société peut, à même ses bénéfices nets, déclarer et verser des dividendes à ses actionnaires. Ces dividendes seront imposables lorsque versés aux actionnaires.

Afin d’éviter qu’il y ait une double imposition, les lois fiscales prévoient un mécanisme de majoration et crédit d’impôt sur le dividende reçu. Ceci a pour objectif que le montant d’impôt payé au total (corporatif et individuel) soit similaire au montant d’impôt qui aurait été payé si l’entreprise était exploitée par un particulier (principe d’intégration). Une société pourra déclarer des dividendes ordinaires, pour les revenus ayant bénéficié de la DPE, ainsi que des dividendes déterminés, pour les revenus assujettis au gros taux d’imposition. Le principe d’intégration n’est toutefois pas parfait et il existe parfois des distorsions, notamment lorsque la société ne se qualifie pas à la DPE provinciale.

Salaire ou dividende?

L’actionnaire d’une compagnie peut également être rémunéré par salaire, en étant l’employé de sa propre société. Une planification fiscale est recommandée afin de déterminer la façon la plus avantageuse de se rémunérer. Il est à noter que lorsque l’entrepreneur se fait verser un salaire par sa société, différentes cotisations doivent être payées et il devra y avoir des retenues à la source sur le salaire pour les impôts à payer.

Avantageux ou non l’incorporation?

La société par actions peut être un véhicule d’exploitation d’entreprise très avantageux au niveau fiscal, en permettant de différer l’impôt sur le revenu. Elle n’est toutefois pas nécessairement avantageuse à toutes les situations, dépendamment notamment du type de revenu, de la qualification à la DPE (fédérale et/ou provinciale) et si la société génère plus de revenu que le montant nécessaire pour couvrir le coût de vie de ses actionnaires.

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de courriel ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Call Now Button