Closed transmitter status

Overview of the Company Book Registers
June 9, 2021
Exchange and conversion of shares
June 11, 2021

A major element that should not be overlooked in incorporation is the restriction on the transfer of shares and other securities, which is usually included in the articles of incorporation.

Generally speaking, a company issuing shares or other securities is obliged under the Securities Act to produce a prospectus, which is a complex document whose purpose is, among other things, to protect investors by informing them in detail of the company's financial situation.

However, the law provides for several situations under which a company is exempt from the prospectus requirement. One of the most frequently used exemptions is the private issuer exemption, which is set out in section 2.4 of Regulation 45-106 respecting Prospectus Exemptions. This exemption applies automatically as long as the various criteria are met, and does not require the filing of any form with the Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF). It is this exemption that is used by the vast majority of smaller private companies.

The following is a summary of the conditions to be met:

  • The company must not be a reporting issuer (e.g. companies making a public offering) or an investment fund;
  • The company's securities, except for non-convertible debt, are subject to restrictions on free transfer contained in the company's governing documents or in agreements between the holders of the securities;
  • The company's securities must be beneficially owned by no more than 50 persons (excluding employees);
  • The securities were only placed with persons covered by the regulations, including the founders, directors, officers of the company, and members of their families or close friends.

The provisions contained in the articles of incorporation of the company are therefore important in order for the company to have the status of a private issuer and to be able to issue shares or other securities without a prospectus requirement.

Generally, the articles of incorporation provide that any transfer of shares or other securities, except for non-convertible debt securities, is subject to the consent of the board of directors. In this way, in the event of a sale of shares, it will be imperative that the company intervenes to authorise the transfer. This is the way a share transaction between shareholders of private companies is generally conducted in Canada.

Alternatively, if the articles of association do not provide for such a restriction, the holders of the securities (the shareholders, in the case of shares) may contractually agree on a restriction on the free transfer of the securities.

Finally, it should be noted that for companies that only have a restriction on the transfer of shares in their articles, it is not necessarily mandatory to amend the articles to add a restriction on the transfer of securities. Indeed, if the company has only issued shares and no other securities, such as stock options or convertible debentures, the restriction on the transfer of shares alone is sufficient to comply with the regulation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Now Button

Statut d’émetteur fermé

Survol des registres du livre de société
juin 9, 2021
L’échange et la conversion d’actions
juin 11, 2021

Un élément majeur qui n’est pas à négliger à l’occasion d’une incorporation est la restriction sur le transfert des actions et autres titres, qui est généralement inclut dans les statuts de constitution.

De manière générale, une société qui émet des actions ou autres titres est dans l’obligation, en vertu de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières, de produire un prospectus, qui est un document complexe ayant notamment pour objet de protéger les investisseurs en les informant de façon détaillée de la situation financière de la société.

La loi prévoit toutefois plusieurs situations en vertu desquelles une société est dispensée de l’obligation de prospectus. L’une des dispenses les plus fréquemment utilisées est la dispense d’émetteur fermé, qui est prévue à l’article 2.4 du Règlement 45-106 sur les dispenses de prospectus. Cette dispense est d’application automatique du moment que les différents critères sont rencontrés, ne nécessitant la production d’aucun formulaire auprès de l’Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF). C’est cette dispense qui est utilisée par la vaste majorité des petites sociétés privées.

Voici un résumé des conditions à rencontrer :

  • La société ne doit pas être un émetteur assujetti (notamment les sociétés qui font un appel public à l’épargne) ou un fonds d’investissement ;
  • Les titres de la société, sauf les créances non convertibles, sont assujettis à des restrictions à la libre cession contenues dans les documents constitutifs de la société ou dans des conventions entre les porteurs des titres ;
  • Les titres de la société doivent être la propriété véritable d’au plus 50 personnes (à l’exception des salariés) ;
  • Les titres n’ont été placés qu’auprès de personnes visées par le règlement, incluant les fondateurs, administrateurs, dirigeants de la société, et des membres de leur famille ou amis proches.

Les dispositions contenues dans les statuts de constitution de la société sont donc importantes afin que la société ait le statut d’émetteur fermé et puisse émettre des actions ou autres titres sans obligation de prospectus.

De manière générale, on prévoit dans les statuts de constitution que tout transfert des actions ou autres titres, à l’exception des titres de créances non convertibles, est assujetti au consentement du conseil d’administration. De cette manière, à l’occasion d’une vente d’actions, il sera impératif que la société intervienne afin d’autoriser le transfert. C’est d’ailleurs la façon dont se déroule généralement une transaction d’actions entre actionnaires des sociétés privées au Canada.

Une alternative, advenant que les statuts ne prévoient pas une telle restriction, est que les porteurs des titres (les actionnaires, dans le cas des actions) conviennent par contrat d’une restriction à la libre cession des titres.

Enfin, notons que pour les sociétés qui n’ont dans leurs statuts qu’une restriction sur la cession des actions, il n’est pas nécessairement obligatoire de procéder à une modification des statuts afin d’y ajouter une restriction sur le transfert des titres. En effet, si la société a uniquement émis des actions et pas d’autres titres, tels que des options d’achats d’actions ou débentures convertibles, la seule restriction sur le transfert des actions est suffisante afin de se conformer au règlement.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de courriel ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Call Now Button