Overview of the Company Book Registers

Certificated or uncertified shares?
June 5, 2021
Closed transmitter status
June 10, 2021

A company book usually contains several registers, which are sometimes required by law and sometimes not.

Probably the most important register, and one that is mandatory under both Quebec and federal law, is the securities register. This register contains details of each issue and transfer of shares, the number and class of shares held by each shareholder, and the amount outstanding on the shares (for provincial corporations). Where shares are issued without a certificate, the existence of the shares is evidenced by the simple entry of the issue in the register. The same applies to transfers of shares: the registration of a transfer entails delivery of the shares from the transferor to the transferee (see the Securities Transfer Act).

Since the securities register already contains details of share transfers, the "register of transfers", which was provided for under the old Companies Act and is still sometimes used by some legal practitioners, is not necessary and may make the maintenance and updating of the company book unnecessarily complex.

Also included in the corporate book is a list of directors. This list is mandatory for provincial corporations, and must indicate the name, domicile, and start and end dates of each director of the corporation. It is customary to indicate the place of residence, especially for federal corporations, which require that one quarter of the directors be Canadian residents (or at least one Canadian resident if there are 3 directors and less).

The corporate book also contains a list of officers, indicating the functions held by each, as well as a list of shareholders. This list of shareholders becomes mandatory in provincial corporations when it has more than 50 shareholders or is a reporting issuer. It can also be requested by any shareholder of the company, and creditors as well for federal companies.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Now Button

Survol des registres du livre de société

Actions avec ou sans certificat?
juin 5, 2021
Statut d’émetteur fermé
juin 10, 2021

Un livre de société contient généralement plusieurs registres, qui sont parfois obligatoires en vertu de la loi et parfois non.

Le registre probablement le plus important, et qui est obligatoire autant dans la loi québécoise que la loi fédérale, est le registre des valeurs mobilières. Ce registre contient les détails de chaque émission et transfert d’actions, le nombre et catégorie d’actions détenues par chaque actionnaire, et le montant restant à payer sur les actions (pour les sociétés provinciales). Lorsque les actions sont émises sans certificat, l’existence des actions est constatée par la simple inscription de l’émission au registre. Il en est de même pour les transferts d’actions : l’inscription d’un transfert entraîne la livraison des actions, du cédant au cessionnaire (voir à ce sujet la Loi sur le transfert des valeurs mobilières).

Puisque le registre des valeurs mobilières contient déjà des détails sur les transferts d’actions, le « registre des transferts », qui était prévu par l’ancienne Loi sur les compagnies et encore parfois utilisé par certains praticiens du droit, n’est pas nécessaire et peut complexifier inutilement la tenue et mise à jour du livre de société.

On retrouve également dans le livre de société une liste des administrateurs. Cette liste est obligatoire pour les sociétés de régime provincial, et doit indiquer le nom, domicile, et dates de début et fin de mandat de chaque administrateur de la société. Il est d’usage d’indiquer le lieu de résidence, particulièrement pour les sociétés fédérales, qui imposent que le quart des administrateurs soient résidents canadiens (ou au moins un résident canadien s’il y a 3 administrateurs et moins).

Le livre de société contient également une liste des dirigeants, en indiquant les fonctions occupées par chacun, ainsi qu’une liste des actionnaires. Cette liste des actionnaires devient obligatoire dans les sociétés provinciales lorsqu’elle a plus de 50 actionnaires ou bien est un émetteur assujetti. Elle peut aussi être demandée par tout actionnaire de la société, et les créanciers également pour les sociétés fédérales.

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de courriel ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Call Now Button