Legal information

  • Often entrepreneurs will hold the shares of their operating company through a management company, instead of holding the shares directly. We present an overview of the advantages of such a structure. Asset protection An operating company may be at risk of legal action, particularly if it is active in a high-risk area in terms of civil and contractual liability. It may also be at risk if business does not go as planned.
  • It is quite common for an incorporation to be carried out by the entrepreneur himself, instead of entrusting this task to a competent lawyer. We offer you a list of consequences that frequently occur in such a situation, and which make it strongly recommended that a professional be mandated to incorporate a company. Lack of legal organisation The mere fact of filing articles of incorporation and obtaining a certificate of incorporation
  • In Quebec and Canada, a corporation is legally constituted on the initiative of a "founder" (incorporator). This is the person who signs the articles of incorporation and applies to government authorities for a certificate of incorporation attesting to the creation of the company. Unlike in the United States, the role of the incorporator in Canada is extremely limited: he or she signs the articles of incorporation (of
  • Choice of Jurisdiction Before incorporating a company, it is necessary to determine whether you wish to incorporate under the provincial or federal system. The differences between these two incorporation regimes are discussed in other articles on our blog. A question we are often asked before the incorporation process is: will it be too late to change the incorporation regime once the incorporation is done? The answer is no, it will not be too late. Continue under another
  • Separate entity A corporation (company) is a separate entity with its own legal personality. As such, the Canadian tax system provides for special taxation to govern the taxation of corporations. A corporation is subject to a corporate tax rate, the rate of which can change depending on the amount of income and the type of income. The following are some (but not all) features of the corporate tax system. Deductions for
  • Registration Registration (or lack thereof) with the GST and QST files can have significant tax implications for a company. These include the right to claim input tax credits (ITCs/ITRs) for business expenses, or certain tax elections allowing certain supplies to become non-taxable (e.g., the sale of all or substantially all of the assets of a business). What the law provides First, under section 240 of the
  • Compared to starting a business via a corporation (company), starting a sole proprietorship is legally and administratively simple. Indeed, while the corporation is a separate legal entity that requires the completion of various corporate formalities, the sole proprietorship is a business operated by the natural person who is the owner. If the business owner operates the business solely under his or her first and last name, other than through a
  • In general, the articles of incorporation of a company provide for different classes of shares as authorised share capital. Authorised share capital means that these shares can be issued by the company, but are not necessarily issued. Unless otherwise specified in the articles, the authorised share capital is unlimited, as an unlimited number of shares may be issued. Furthermore, if the articles do not provide for several classes of shares, the company will be deemed to have only one class,
  • Filing the Articles of Incorporation When filing the Articles of Incorporation for the purpose of incorporation, the legal name of the corporation (corporate name) must be entered or a numerical designation (numbered company) must be requested in lieu of a corporate name. The corporate name of the company usually ends with "inc." or "ltd.", or other equivalents permitted by law. It is also possible to register, at the

 

The information contained in the articles on the IncorporationQuebec.net website does not constitute legal opinions, and is only general information intended to popularise certain legal concepts relating to company law or SME taxation. The information contained in the articles may not be applicable to certain specific cases. Pronto Corporate Services Inc. and the author of the texts are not responsible for any error, inaccuracy or out-of-date information that may be contained in the articles.

August 11, 2021

Changing a provincial corporation to a federal corporation (and vice versa)

Choice of Jurisdiction Before incorporating a company, it is necessary to determine whether you wish to incorporate provincially or federally. The differences between these two
August 31, 2021

Who can act as a "founder"?

In Quebec and Canada, a corporation is legally constituted on the initiative of a "founder" (incorporator). This is the person who
September 14, 2021

Consequences of incomplete incorporation

It is quite common for an incorporation to be carried out by the entrepreneur himself, instead of entrusting this task to a competent lawyer. We can help you
September 22, 2021

The advantages of a management company

Often entrepreneurs will hold the shares of their operating company through a management company, instead of holding the shares directly. We
October 4, 2021

Shareholder, director and officer : explanations

Within a corporation (company) there are different titles and functions. Often these titles and functions are all held by the same person, particularly
October 16, 2021

Canadian and US companies: notable differences

Over the decades, Canadian corporate law has developed in such a way that today there are several notable differences between corporations incorporated in the United States
November 12, 2021

Paid-up capital: basic principles

Paid-up capital is a fundamental concept in the Canadian tax system. It is the "tax" equivalent of legal capital, i.e., issued and paid-up share capital
November 25, 2021

Characteristics of rolling actions

One class of shares that is often found in corporate share structures and often included in the articles of incorporation is the
December 3, 2021

Beware of quacks in the field of incorporations

When considering an incorporation mandate, it is important to do some due diligence with the prospective service provider beforehand. Dozens of

Information juridique

  • Au fil des décennies, le droit corporatif canadien s’est développé de manière à ce qu’il existe aujourd’hui plusieurs différences notables entre les corporations constituées aux États-Unis et celles constituées au Canada. Comme nous le verrons plus loin, ces différences peuvent s’avérer extrêmement importantes lorsqu’une société constituée au Canada ouvre un établissement aux États-Unis pour y exploiter une entreprise. Nous vous propons un aperçu de trois différences importantes entre l’environnement corporatif canadien et américain. 1. Nombre
  • Au sein d’une société par actions (compagnie), on retrouve différents titres et fonctions. Souvent, ces titres et fonctions sont tous occupés par une même personne, particulièrement pour les entreprises de taille modeste, mais ce n’est pas toujours le cas. Nous vous proposons un survol des différences entre les actionnaires, les administrateurs et les dirigeants d’une compagnie. Actionnaires L’actionnaire (shareholder) est propriétaire d’actions d’une société par actions. Ses actions lui confèrent certains droits sur la société,
  • Bien souvent, les entrepreneurs vont détenir les actions de leur compagnie opérante par l’entremise d’une société de gestion, au lieu de détenir les actions directement. Nous vous présentons un aperçu des avantages d’une telle structure. Protection d’actifs Une société opérante peut être à risque de poursuites judiciaires, particulièrement si elle œuvre dans un domaine à risque élevé au niveau de la responsabilité civile et contractuelle. Elle peut également, si les affaires ne vont pas comme
  • Il est assez fréquent qu’une incorporation soit effectuée par l’entrepreneur lui-même, au lieu de confier cette tâche à un juriste compétent en la matière. Nous vous proposons une liste de conséquences qui surviennent fréquemment dans une telle situation, et qui font en sorte que nous recommandons fortement de mandater un professionnel pour constituer une compagnie. Absence d’organisation juridique Le seul fait de faire le dépôt de statuts de constitution et d’obtenir un certificat de constitution
  • Au Québec et au Canada, une société par actions est juridiquement constituée à l’initiative d’un « fondateur » (incorporator en anglais). Il s’agit de la personne qui signe les statuts de constitution et qui demande aux autorités gouvernementales d’émettre un certificat de constitution attestant de la création de la société. Les pouvoirs du fondateur Contrairement aux États-Unis, le rôle du fondateur d’une société au Canada est extrêmement limité : il signe les statuts de constitution (de
  • Choix de juridiction Avant de constituer une compagnie, il faut déterminer si l’on souhaite s’incorporer sous le régime provincial ou fédéral. Les différences entre ces deux régimes constitutifs sont abordées dans d’autres articles de notre blog. Une question qui nous est souvent posée avant le processus d’incorporation est : sera-t-il trop tard pour changer de régime constitutif, une fois l’incorporation effectuée? La réponse est non, il ne sera pas trop tard. Continuer sous une autre
  • Entité distincte Une société par actions (compagnie) est une entité distincte, celle-ci ayant une personnalité juridique qui lui est propre. Ainsi, le régime fiscal canadien prévoit une fiscalité particulière pour régir l’imposition des sociétés par actions. Une société par actions est assujettie à un taux d’imposition corporatif, dont le taux peut changer selon le montant du revenu et le type de revenu. Voyons ci-après quelques caractéristiques (non-exhaustives) du régime fiscal destiné aux sociétés. Déductions aux
  • L’inscription L’inscription (ou l’absence d’inscription) aux fichiers de la TPS et TVQ peut avoir des répercussions importantes au niveau fiscal pour une société. Pensons notamment aux droits de réclamer des crédits sur les intrants (CTI/RTI) pour les dépenses d’entreprise, ou à certains choix fiscaux permettant que certaines fournitures deviennent non-taxable (exemple la vente de la totalité ou presque des actifs d’une entreprise). Ce que la loi prévoit D’abord, en vertu de l’article 240 de la
  • Comparativement au démarrage d’une entreprise via une société par actions (compagnie), le démarrage d’une entreprise individuelle est simple au niveau légal et administratif. En effet, alors que la société par actions constitue une entité légale distincte qui exige de remplir différentes formalités corporatives, l’entreprise individuelle est une entreprise exploitée par la personne physique qui en est le propriétaire. Si le propriétaire de l’entreprise exploite l’entreprise uniquement sous son nom et prénom, autrement que par un

 

Les informations contenues dans les articles du site IncorporationQuebec.net ne constituent pas des opinions juridiques, et ne sont que des informations de nature générale ayant pour objectif de vulgariser certaines notions juridiques relatives au droit des sociétés ou à la fiscalité des PME. Les informations contenues dans les articles peuvent ne pas être applicables à certains cas particuliers. Services Corporatifs Pronto Inc. et l’auteur des textes ne sont pas responsables de toute erreur, inexactitude ou information pas à jour que peuvent comporter les articles.

August 11, 2021

Changer une société provinciale en société fédérale (et vice versa)

Choix de juridiction Avant de constituer une compagnie, il faut déterminer si l’on souhaite s’incorporer sous le régime provincial ou fédéral. Les différences entre ces deux
August 31, 2021

Qui peut agir à titre de « fondateur »?

Au Québec et au Canada, une société par actions est juridiquement constituée à l’initiative d’un « fondateur » (incorporator en anglais). Il s’agit de la personne qui
September 14, 2021

Conséquences d’une incorporation incomplète

Il est assez fréquent qu’une incorporation soit effectuée par l’entrepreneur lui-même, au lieu de confier cette tâche à un juriste compétent en la matière. Nous vous
September 22, 2021

Les avantages d’une société de gestion

Bien souvent, les entrepreneurs vont détenir les actions de leur compagnie opérante par l’entremise d’une société de gestion, au lieu de détenir les actions directement. Nous
October 4, 2021

Actionnaire, administrateur et dirigeant : explications

Au sein d’une société par actions (compagnie), on retrouve différents titres et fonctions. Souvent, ces titres et fonctions sont tous occupés par une même personne, particulièrement
October 16, 2021

Compagnies canadiennes et américaines : différences notables

Au fil des décennies, le droit corporatif canadien s’est développé de manière à ce qu’il existe aujourd’hui plusieurs différences notables entre les corporations constituées aux États-Unis
November 12, 2021

Capital versé : principes de base

Le capital versé est une notion fondamentale dans le système fiscal canadien. C’est l’équivalent « fiscal » du capital légal, soit le capital-actions émis et payé
November 25, 2021

Caractéristiques des actions de roulement

Une catégorie d’actions que l’on retrouve souvent dans les structures de capital-actions des sociétés et souvent incluses dans les statuts lors de l’incorporation est la catégorie
December 3, 2021

Attention aux charlatans dans le domaine des incorporations

Lorsque vient le temps de confier un mandat d’incorporation, il est important de faire certaines vérifications au préalable avec le fournisseur de service envisagé. Des dizaines
Call Now Button